About Tanzania



The United Republic of Tanzania (Kiswahili: Jamhuri ya Muungano wa Tanzania),
is a country in East Africa bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north, Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west, and Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique to the south. To the east it borders the Indian Ocean.

Tanzania is a result of the unification of Tanganyika (the mainland) and the Zanzibar islands. maps_en

The north-east of Tanzania is mountainous, and includes Mt. Meru and Mt. Kilimanjaro (19341ft / 5,895m). Kilimanjaro's natural beauty, as well as the fact that it has the highest peak in Africa that is covered with snow even though it is so close to to the equator. Mt. Kilimanjaro attracts thousands of tourists each year.
West of these is the world renown Serengeti National Park, famous for its annual migration of millions of white bearded wildebeest, as well as its abundance of lions, leopards, elephants, rhinoceroses, and buffalo.

Further north is Lake Victoria, which is the largest lake in Africa and is the source of the Nile river

In the west, separating Tanzania from the Democratic Republic of the Congo, is Lake Tanganyika. It is the deepest lake in Africa(1471m depth).

The centre of Tanzania is a large plateau, with grasslands and national parks to the south and north, and arable land in most parts.

The country comprises several distinct zones: a fertile coastal belt, the Masai Steppe and mountain ranges to the north, with Mt. Kilimanjaro rising to 5,895m and Mount Meru 4,566m, and a high plateau in the central and southern regions. There are over 61,000 sq. km (23,500 sq. miles) of inland water. Unguja Island, 36km from the Mainland, is fertile, hilly, and densely populated on the west side, low and thinly peopled in the east.